Honey Whole Wheat Bread

24 Feb

This is my absolute favorite homemade bread because it is so moist and really holds its shape. You know how some breads break apart when you cut them? This one never does.
My friend used to make this bread when we were going to school in Idaho and I really loved it. She was one of those people that would make it without having a recipe so I made her measure it out one day for me. I actually usually make it with white flour for a yummy homemade bread but today I decided to try whole wheat flour and it was really good too. (You still use the honey either way).

3 cups really warm water

1 1/2 Tbsp. yeast (or 2 yeast packets)
Dissolve and wait until yeast froths then add:
1/4 c. shortening
1/4 c. honey
1 Tbsp. salt
about 6 cups of flour
Add flour a cup at a time until you have a soft dough. Knead and put into a bowl. Cover with a cloth and let raise about an hour or until it has about doubled in size. (It raises much better if you put in front of a window with the sun shining in or on top of a warm oven). Knead again and place bread into baking tins and raise again for another hour. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes until brown on the top. Butter the top of the bread while still in the oven and let cook another 2 min. Remove and let cool about 10 minutes in the pans, then turn out and cool 10 more minutes before slicing. Makes 3 regular or 2 large loaves.

PRINT RECIPE

6 Responses to “Honey Whole Wheat Bread”

  1. Netts Nook February 25, 2009 at 1:01 am #

    Your bread looks great a honey butter yumyum.

  2. lesley February 26, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Thanks for posting this, we’re great homemade bread lovers!! I really enjoyed reading your blogs today! :0)

  3. Carrian March 3, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    We make bread every week and I love trying new recipes!!

  4. Heather March 23, 2009 at 12:39 am #

    I love looking at your blog and seeing all of your great recipes!! I just wish I could pay you to come and make us dinner every night!!!! I have never made bread before but I tried this recipe because it looked so good and it turned out great!! It was so easy, I am going to be making this all the time:) Thanks for all of the amazing recipes (I once in a while dare to try one hoping it will look half as good as your picture)!!:)

  5. Mandy December 27, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I have been trying all morning to get my yeast and warm water to froth and it's not frothing to save my life. Do you have a certain technique. I even added a little sugar to the mixture to help activate the yeast. I did test my yeast in another bowl with little amounts and it is active. So the 3 cups isn't too much water to add with yeast?
    I will be using my kitchen aid that I got for Christmas. πŸ™‚ Very excited to put it to work πŸ™‚

  6. Emily December 28, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    @Mandy- Make sure your water is REALLY warm, almost hot. As long as the yeast is activated you should be fine.

Leave a comment