Our Version of Orange Julius

19 Apr

Emily and I would ALWAYS make these when we were little. I mean REALLY little. I remember having to climb up on the counter to reach the blender. Maybe mine and Emily’s love for cooking stemmed from this simple recipe. Who knows?
Anyway, these are SO easy to make and they don’t make a big ol’ mess. I actually like this version better than the REAL Orange Julius.. I don’t know why. Maybe I just don’t like how frothy and expensive real Orange Juilus’ are. This way makes it so its more of a smoothie. For an added twist, try adding fresh strawberries, raspberries, and/or pineapple!

1 can (6oz) frozen orange juice concentrate
1 c. milk
1 c. water
1/3 c. sugar
2-3 Tbsp. powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
about 9 ice cubes

In a blender, blend all ingredients except ice. Slowly add ice cubes one at a time until it reaches a “smoothie” consistency. Serve immediately.
(*If you are adding frozen fruit, add a little at a time BEFORE adding ice cubes. If using fresh fruit, add at the very beginning when you are blending everything else.)

7 Responses to “Our Version of Orange Julius”

  1. Kara April 20, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    I also have fond memories of having these when I was a little girl. My dad made them all the time!

  2. Elizabeth April 20, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    When I was growing up, my town didn’t have an Orange Julius, so it was always a huge treat to go to the big city and have one. That and Subway. Oh, how times have changed, huh?

  3. Andrea April 21, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Love your site! Clicked over to it from somewhere else — honestly can’t remember where, though. Oh well. Anyway, I’m sipping away on my Orange Julius as I’m typing this. Made it with rice milk, for a dairy-free version. Will be posting a link to your recipe from my blog. Thanks for sharing!

  4. faith April 24, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    this is almost exactly how we made them growing up. delicious! i also like doing lime julius (lime juice concentrate instead of orange and no vanilla).

  5. Helaman & Maija Haynie November 25, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    I've never been a huge fan of julius with so much concentrate. Try using 1 C milk, 1/3 C Sugar, 1 orange peeled, and 1 T of OJ concentrate. Blend, then mix ice cubes in until it's the consistency you want it. So yummy!

  6. Heather T. December 5, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    This is also delicious with Grape or Cranberry frozen concentrate!

  7. Karrens June 7, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    We make this all the time now! Thank you! It is delicious!!! 🙂

Leave a comment